People - Faculty

Ken Ono

Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Mathematics

Office: W418
Phone: 404-727-3636
Personal Website:
Research Groups: Algebra and Number Theory

Office Hours:
  • Monday: 9:00AM - 9:45AM
  • Monday: 1:00PM - 2:00PM
  • Wednesday: 9:00AM - 9:45AM
  • Wednesday: 1:00PM - 2:00PM
  • And by appointment.

  • Number Theory

Recent Publications:
  • K. Ono and K. Soundararajan, Ramanujan's ternary quadratic form, Inventiones Mathematicae 130, No. 3, 1997, pp. 415-454
  • K. Ono and C. Skinner, Fourier coefficients of half-integral weight modular forms modulo l, Annals of Mathematics 147, No. 2, 1998, pp. 453-470
  • K. Ono and C. Skinner, Nonvanishing of quadratic twists of modular L-functions, Inventiones Mathematicae 134, 1998, pp. 651-660
  • W. Kohnen and K. Ono, Indivisibility of class numbers of imaginary quadratic fields and orders of Tate-Shafarevich groups of elliptic curves with complex multiplication, Inventiones Mathematicae 135, 1999, pp. 387-398
  • K. Ono, Distribution of the partition function modulo m Annals of Mathematics 151, 2000, pp. 293-307
  • K. Ono, The web of modularity: Arithmetic of the coefficients of modular forms and q-series, CBMS Conference Series, 102 2004, Amer. Math. Soc.
  • K. Bringmann and K. Ono, The f(q) mock theta function conjecture and partition ranks, Inventiones Mathematicae, 165, 2006, pp. 243-266.
  • K. Ono, Unearthing the visions of a master: harmonic Maass forms and number theory, 2008 Harvard-MIT Current Developments in Mathematics Conference, Int. Press, Somerville, MA, 2009, pp. 347-454.
  • K. Bringmann and K. Ono, Dyson's ranks and Maass forms, Annals of Mathematics, 171 (2010), pp. 419-449.
  • J. H. Bruinier and K. Ono, Heegner divisors, L-functions and harmonic weak Maass forms, Annals of Mathematics, Annals of Mathematics, 172 (2010), pp.2135-2181.

  • Ph.D. (1993) University of California, Los Angeles (Mathematics)
  • M.A. (1992) University of California, Los Angeles (Mathematics)
  • B.A. (1989) University of Chicago (Mathematics)

Honours and Awards:
  • 2016-2017 MAA George Polya Distinguished Lecturer
  • 2015 MAA Invited Plenary Address, Joint Meetings of the Math Societies
  • 2014 Albert E. Levy Award for Scientific Research
  • 2013 Elected Fellow of the American Mathematical Society
  • 2012 AMS Erdos Memorial Address
  • 2009 AMS Invited Plenary Address, Joint Meeting of the Math Societies.
  • 2008 Harvard-MIT Current Developments in Mathematics (Plenary Speaker).
  • 2005 NSF Director's Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award.
  • 2003 John S. Guggenheim Fellowship.
  • 2003 NSF-CBMS Distinguished Lecturer.
  • 2002 H. I. Romnes Fellowship
  • 1999 PECASE Award (awarded by President Clinton)
  • 1999 David and Lucile Packard Fellowship.
  • 1999 Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship.
  • 1998 NSF CAREER Award.

  • Research in Number Theory (Editor in Chief)
  • Royal Society Open Science (Associate Editor)
  • Mathematical Intelligencer (Board of Correspondents)
  • Annals of Combinatorics (Editor)
  • Research in the Mathematical Sciences (Editor-in-Chief)
  • Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society (Editor, Book Reviews)
  • Communications in Number Theory and Physics, Integers (Editor)
  • International Journal of Modern Mathematics (Editor)
  • The International Journal of Number Theory (Editor)
  • Involve (Editor)
  • Journal of Combinatorics and Number Theory (Editor)
  • Online Journal of Analytic Combinatorics (Editor)
  • Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society (Managing Editor)
  • The Ramanujan Journal (Editor)
  • Banff International Research Station (Advisory Board)
  • Institute for Mathematics and Education (Advisory Board)
  • AMS Mathematical Research Communities (Advisory Board)
  • Pohang Mathematics Institute (Advisory Board)
  • U.S. National Committee for Mathematics (US National Academy of Sciences) (Advisory Board)
  • AMS-MAA-SIAM Morgan Prize Committee (2016-2019)
  • Associate Producer and Mathematics Consultant,
  • Vice President, American Mathematical Society (2018-2021)