Emory Number Theorists Prove Umbral Moonshine Conjecture
Published: 04/07/2015
Emory number theorists Ken Ono and his PhD student Michael Griffin have proved the Umbral Moonshine Conjecture with John Duncan, a mathematical physicist at Case Western Reserve University. The conjecture has emerged as a central problem at the interface of mathematics and string theory. Here is an excellent exposition of their work and the origin of the conjecture in Scientific American.

Noam Kantor has been awarded a Goldwater scholarship
Published: 04/02/2015
Noam Kantor, a Robert W. Woodruff Scholar at Emory University, has been named one of 260 nationwide recipients of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship. The scholarship was initiated in 1986 to honor U.S. Senator Barry M. Goldwater, with purpose to "alleviate a critical current and future shortage of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers." As a sophomore, Noam is taking graduate mathematics courses and independent studies, and in addition to ongoing research at Emory, Noam will attend the WADE number theory REU in Wake Forest this summer and plans to participate in the Budapest Semesters in Mathematics program before pursuing a Ph.D. in mathematics.

Press release: http://
List of recipients:

Olivia Beckwith wins a prestigious NSF Graduate Fellowship
Published: 04/01/2015
Emory Number Theory PhD student Olivia Beckwith has been awarded a prestigious NSF Graduate Fellowship. These fellowships support outstanding graduate students who are pursuing research in science and engineering. Olivia has been recognized for her potential for significant achievements in science and engineering. She has already published 5 research papers, and she is nearly finished with her 6th paper (a joint project with postdoc Michael Mertens). Olivia is the 6th Emory Number Theory PhD student to receive an NSF Graduate Fellowship in the last 5 years.
North American Computational Linguistics Olympiad hosted by Emory University
Published: 02/06/2015
On Jan 29, 2015, the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science and the Program in Linguistics and hosted the North American Computational Linguistics Olympiad. NACLO is a contest in which high school students solve problems in computational linguistics. Winners of the competition can participate in an invitational round, which can ultimately lead to participation in an international competition. This year Emory joined other top universities (52 in all) in hosting the event, including Carnegie Mellon, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Georgetown, Johns Hopkins, MIT, Stanford, Michigan, Penn, and Yale. Emory was the only school in the southeast to serve as a host. Invitations were sent to over 70 high school academic bowl coaches in Georgia, ultimately yielding 23 participants, and putting Emory in the top third of schools in the nation in terms of number of participants. The event was held in the Winship Ballroom, and participants received a mug (with an Emory logo), a campus tour, and lunch at Cox Hall. Emory undergraduate students from Computer Science and Linguistics Science helped to run the event. The main organizers of the event was Jinho Choi from Computer Science and Phillip Wolff from Linguistics.
Dr. Alessandro Veneziani profiled in the Italian newspaper L’Eco di Bergamo
Published: 01/26/2015
Dr. Alessandro Veneziani has been profiled in the Italian newspaper L’Eco di Bergamo. To view the article in its entirety, please click here .

You can translate a version of the full article that is published on this website.