Visiting Professor Suresh Venapally receives Bhatnagar award
news Published Date: 2009-10-15
Suresh Venapally, a visiting professor in the department for the 2009-10 year, was recently named as one of only eleven recipients of the prestigious Bhatnagar award in 2009. The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards for Science and Technology are given to scientists below 45 years of age, for their outstanding scientific contributions made primarily in India during the last 5 years proceeding the year of the Prize. The SSB Prize comprises a citation, a plaque and a cash award of Rs.5,00,000/- , and are given to the recipients by the Prime Minister of India. The department offers hearty congratulations to Suresh!
Jim Nagy wins Distinguished Alumnus Award
news Published Date: 2009-10-15
Professor James Nagy was recently conferred a Distinguished Alumnus Award by his undergraduate and MS institution, Northern Illinois University. Nagy was recognized as an internationally recognized leader in the field of digital image processing and restoration. Nagy has been at Emory University since 1999 and has contributed significantly to the department's programs and to graduate student advising. The faculty, staff and students of the department offer their warm congratulations to Professor Nagy on this recognition. More details can be found at
Manjul Bhargava to lecture
news Published Date: 2009-10-14
Professor Manjul Bhargava of Princeton University will speak on "Counting problems in number theory" at 5:30pm on Thursday, October 15th, in MSC E208. He is well known for his research achievements (leading to many prizes such as the Cole Prize for number theory), for his writing (for which he was awarded the Merten M. Hasse Prize), and for his clear and engaging talks. This talk is aimed at a general mathematical audience and will be understandable by undergraduate math majors.
Li Xiong receives Woodrow Wilson Career Enhancement Fellowship
news Published Date: 2009-09-01
The department congratulates Dr. Li Xiong for receiving a Career Enhancement Fellowship from the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation. This prestigious fellowship is awarded nationally to 20 junior faculty members each year in the social and natural sciences and the humanities. The award provides a year of leave to Dr. Xiong to work on her project, which focuses on private and confidential information sharing in distributed healthcare information systems.
Professor Ron Gould profiled on the eScienceCommons blog
news Published Date: 2009-08-18
Math's in your cards, so deal with it

A 17th-century French gambler helped spark the modern theory of probability, says Ron Gould, author of the newly published "Mathematics in Games, Sports and Gambling: The Games People Play."

The textbook, based on Gould's popular freshmen seminar by the same name, reveals elementary probability theory and discrete mathematics through card tricks, dice rolling, baseball and other sports and games.

The aim is to help students develop a more logical, questioning approach to solving problems. "And, I hope they have a good time," adds Gould, a Goodrich C. White Professor of Mathematics who has taught at Emory for 30 years.

Skip Garibaldi Named Winship Distinguished Professor of Mathematics
news Published Date: 2009-06-25
Professor Skip Garibaldi is the recipient of a Winship Distinguished Research Award. These awards, named for Emory alumnus and former Board of Trustees secretary Charles T. Winship, recognize faculty who “demonstrate singular accomplishments in research.” The awards, given for a three-year term, honor achievement and promise in research and research-based teaching. Only three awards are given each year, and only nine faculty members hold this honor at any given time. The department heartily congratulates Professor Garibaldi on this well-deserved recognition
Evans/Hall Speaker Announced!
news Published Date: 2009-04-28
The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science is pleased to announce the 15th annual Evans/Hall Lecture and Award Ceremony on Tuesday, April 28 from 4-5pm in E208, Mathematics and Science Center, with Reception following. Our speaker this year will be Jeff Brock of Brown University.

The Evans/Hall Lecture honors graduate and undergraduate students in the department and recognizes outstanding student accomplishments via the Trevor Evans Award, Deborah Jackson Award, Marshall Hall Award, and Departmental Awards.
Yandong Liu & Qi Guo recognized in Yahoo!'s Scientific Challenges Program
news Published Date: 2009-04-13
The Department of Mathematics & Computer Science would like to congratulate Yandong Liu and Qi Guo for being chosen as two of twenty PhD students who have been selected to be part of Yahoo!'s Key Scientific Challenges (KSC) program. Supporting the academic community is a top priority at Yahoo!. Yahoo! created the KSC Program to support a limited number of outstanding PhD students who they believe are doing research in very important and challenging areas. The Program provides each student with $5,000 of unrestricted funds for the support of their research activities (e.g., conference fees and travel, lab materials, professional society membership dues, etc.).

As part of this program, students also receives an exclusive invitation to a unique workshop (most likely to be held in August in Sunnyvale, California), where they will focus on novel disciplines and important technical challenges for the Internet research community, slanted specifically for graduate students whose innovative work is just emerging.

Both students began their studies in 2007 and are members of the IR lab and are advised by Professor Eugene Agichtein .
2009 Emerson Center Lectureship Award
Published Date: 2009-03-03
Ying Wai (Daniel) Fan won the 2009 Emerson Center Lectureship Best Poster Awad for his poster entitled, Image Deblurring with Synthetic Boundary Conditions. Information regarding the symposium can be found at,
2009 Georgia Scientific Computing (GSC) Symposium
Published Date: 2009-02-21
2009 Georgia Scientific Computing (GSC) Symposium February 21, 2009 Emory University

James Nagy
Emory University
Haomin Zhou
Georgia Institute of Technology

Format of the Symposium
The symposium will include five invited talks, a poster session, and substantial time for interaction among the participants. The invited speakers include:

George Biros, Georgia Institute of Technology
Luca Dieci, Georgia Institute of Technology
Ming-Jun Lai, University of Georgia
Michael Stewart, Georgia State University
Alessandro Veneziani, Emory University

To register for the 2009 GSC Symposium, send email to Jim Nagy, There is no registration fee.

Further information, including a preliminary program and directions, can be found here.