The 67th annual William Lowell Putnam mathematics competition will be held on December 2nd
Published Date: 2006-09-20
The Putnam competition will be held on Saturday, December 2nd. For more information, see the competition web page. If you would like to participate, e-mail Prof. Grigni.
Math/computer science students honored
Published Date: 2006-09-16
Sarah Day (center) received the Trevor Evans Award as the best undergraduate major in 1995-96, and Sergei Pilyugin (right) and John Nardo were co-winners of the Marshall Hall Award for best graduate teaching assistants from the Department of Mathematics and Computer here for more information
Prof. R. Parimala receives the TWAS Prize in mathematics
Published Date: 2006-09-02
Asa Candler Griggs Professor of Mathematics R. Parimala will be awarded the 2005 prize in mathematics by the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) for her work on the quadratic analogue of Serre's conjecture, the triviality of principal homogeneous spaces for classical groups over fields of cohomological dimension 2 and the u-invariant of p-adic function fields. This is the first time that the prize has been awarded to a woman. More information here.
Visiting professor Tomasz Luczak - International Congress of Mathematicians
Published Date: 2006-08-30
Visiting professor Tomasz Luczak gave an invited address titled "Randomness and regularity" at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Madrid, Spain. Being invited to give a talk at the ICM is considered an honor similar to receiving a prize. Regular faculty members V. Rodl and R. Parimala have also been invited speakers at previous Congresses. For more information:
Prof. Eugene Agichtein joins the faculty
Published Date: 2006-08-20
Eugene Agichtein, formerly a postdoc at Microsoft Research, has joined the department as an assistant professor. His research interest includes information management and retrieval, and text mining and information extraction. He received his PhD from Columbia in 2005.
Prof. Steve Batterson's book "Pursuit of genius" has been published
Published Date: 2006-06-30
Professor Steve Batterson's book "Pursuit of Genius: Flexner, Einstein, and the Early Faculty at the Institute for Advanced Study" was published by AK Peters. The book recounts the early years of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, NJ (not affiliated with the university). From the dust jacket: "Steve Batterson has mined the Institute's archives to provide a detailed and unvarnished account of the backstage conflicts and intrigue that attended the Institute's growth and determined its future. Those unfamiliar with the Institute will learn how one man's vision shaped a couple's philanthropy and created a haven for scholars in the midst of the Great Depression. Equally, those who have had the privilege of Institute membership will enhance their appreciation of the intellectual leaders who made their own Institute experiences possible. John W. Dawson, Jr., author of Logical Dilemmas: The Life and Work of Kurt Gvdel.
Distinguished lecture by Laszlo Babai: "The abelian sandpile model"
Published Date: 2006-05-01
Read the details here.
Recent PhD graduate Mathias Schacht (graduated 2004) won the 2006 Richard Rado Prize
Published Date: 2006-04-03
Mathias Schacht, who earned his PhD in mathematics from the department in 2004, won the 2006 Richard Rado Prize for his dissertation "On the regularity method for hypergraphs".
Public lecture by Thomas Banchoff: "The fourth dimension and Salvador Dali"
Published Date: 2006-03-06
Presented by the Department of Math & Computer Science and the Emory College Program in Science and Society. Abstract: Salvador Dali was fascinated by science and mathematics. He incorporated mathematical forms and ideas into many of his paintings, for example, "The Fourth Dimension in Corpus Hypercubus" to ordinary geometry. This presentation will describe interaction with Dali over a ten-year period, as described in a recent documentary commemorating the centenary of the artist's birth. Brief bio: Thomas Banchoff is a geometer who has been a professor at Brown University for the past 40 years. He was an undergraduate at the University of Notre Dame and he received his PhD from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1964. He has taught at Harvard, UCLA, and Yale, and he is currently teaching at the University of Georgia in the mathematics department and in the College of Education. In 1991, he wrote "Beyond the Third Dimension" describing his collaborations with mathematicians, computer scientists, and artists.
Metrics Report: Mathematics and Computer Science
Published Date: 2005-03-29
click here